Bugged
My flat has been bugged.
After we found the device hidden in the book case we hooked it up - it’s a very simple piece of kit, a USB jack, no encryption or anything - we downloaded some of the footage:
I now assume that whoever was here previously was downloading more footage from this camera.
I’ve posted the device’s details in a photo:-
I’m now in the process of getting the most expensive locks money can buy put onto every entry point in the flat.
UPDATE: Thought about calling the police in but not sure I want to have to explain everything that’s been going on. Is that dumb of me? Thoughts?

I'm a freelance journalist from London, just starting out in the industry. I specialize in science and technology journalism.
Find me on other websites:

March 5th, 2009 at 6:15 pm
Wow. Scary stuff. So somebody obviously thinks you know something you shouldn’t.
I looked up the website - there is a login page; I wonder if 43462399 is the account number for this? http://www.surveilteq.com/account.php I have tried a few passwords (jim, jimmalham, malham, mylo, nazim) - and will keep trying. Don’t even know if it is the account number for this website!
In case it is, I have e-mailed the company asking for the password for that account. Not sure that they will send it out to me, even if it is an account number! But worth a shot.
Hope you get the locks fitted soon…
K
March 5th, 2009 at 6:51 pm
43462399 could be an account number for surveilteq. no idea of a password yet tho
March 5th, 2009 at 7:05 pm
http://www.surveilteq.com/records.php
typed in the model and serial number came up with that. the latin text is a text filler used by web designers. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lorem_ipsum
March 5th, 2009 at 8:46 pm
I looked up the device on the manufacturers website and got this:
PRODUCT MODEL: SVT-805J
PRODUCT S/N: 1598QQ4
CONTACT: BLACKMOOR CORP SVCS
WARRANTY EXPIRY: 19.02.2009
TROUBLE TICKET 08-530924
SUBMITTED: 24.09.2008
RETURNE: 19.10.2008
RETURNED: Customer reports clicking noise emitted from camera
RESOLUTION: Problem not repeatable in shop, returned to customer
The email address for them was: techstaff@blackmoorservices.com
I hope this helps
March 5th, 2009 at 11:01 pm
Matt.
I feel for you, just watching this terrifies me. I really hope you’re okay.
Right. I’ve done a little digging into Surveilteq, and in particular, this camera.
On their website, http://www.surveilteq.com/, there is a support page.
If you enter the model number and serial number (which are both in your photo), you get this page:
http://i153.photobucket.com/albums/s214/fzoe/Routes/SURVEILTEQ1.jpg
I think the writing at the top of the page is in Latin.
I’m in the process of translating it now.
I also had a thought that you could email them via the link on that page & get some more information. They may be able to download the rest of the footage for you. That way, you can find out exactly when that Camera was put in. Maybe the Bugger (Joke?)’s face will have been caught on camera too.
Stay safe.
Zoe.
xo
March 5th, 2009 at 11:36 pm
I notice the surveilteq website wants an account number: could that be the number you found written on the pad? 43462399
http://www.surveilteq.com/account.php
Now to guess a password. For that matter, if Aalia did administrative work for Prometha, would she still have an active login to their website. Could we guess a username and password for that? (I’ve just had a quick go at both, but I’m not inspired enough to guess a password, it seems)
March 5th, 2009 at 11:57 pm
The police sound like a very good bet to me.
However if you go to the Surveilteq website and punch in the details you get:
http://www.surveilteq.com/records.php
which is a bit strange (well the latin bit anyway). The clicking noise might be what you heard and it seems as though someone has logged a fault with that particular device before.
Tilly
March 5th, 2009 at 11:58 pm
Alright.
The ‘Latin Text’ is a ‘Lorem Ipsum’ (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lorem_ipsum).
It’s dummy text and not really worth investigating.
That number on the Post-it note pad - is it possibly an account number for the Surveilteq site?
Do you want me to email Surveilteq and claim that I’ve forgotten my password but have my account number, or would you rather do it?
Please excuse these ramblings, I can’t sleep and I like to feel like I’m helping somehow.
Zoe.
xo
March 6th, 2009 at 12:02 am
Further to the other comment I made. If you go to the Prometha website and check out the source code then near the bottom there is the following:
Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer adipiscing elit. Vivamus augue. lass aptent taciti
sociosqu ad litora torquent per conubia nostra, per inceptos himenaeos.
More Latin I think.
Co-incidence (or something more sinister?!)
Tilly
March 6th, 2009 at 12:14 am
Sorry to post another comment but maybe you should have a look at this:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lorem_ipsum
Apparantly having some latin in your website is quite common.
Oh well back to the drawing board.
Tilly
March 6th, 2009 at 12:51 am
And what do you mean you haven’t told the police?!?! Someone was in your flat; of course you must report it!!!
If anything else happens - to you, Rachel… anyone - you’ll regret not telling them. Better safe than sorry.
March 6th, 2009 at 10:56 am
Or perhaps it’s an account number for http://www.blackmoorservices.com/securearea.php#/login/
The client who raised the tech issue about the camera. There are links to 3 people’s photos at the bottom; I have looked briefly at these pages but nothing jumps out. It appears they are the people who provided images. I think what we need to focus on is the login page.
It does mention they have ex-military security staff, on the services page. Could this be who Malham is working for?
So… once again, trying to guess a password!
March 6th, 2009 at 11:11 am
Sorry… another message!
I e-mailed info@blackmoorservices.com asking them to shed some light on why a piece of equipment traceable to them was found in a private residence. The automated reply is below. If I hear anything else, I shall obviously pass it on.
Thank you for your enquiry.
If you emailed us regarding contracting our services then we will be in touch once you have passed our screening test and we are satisfied you do not compromise or pose a threat to the security of any of our existing clients.
We are unable to comment on our services for existing clients or our relationship with any individuals, groups or businesses.
March 6th, 2009 at 4:28 pm
Just a thought; you might get more joy out of the techstaff@ address than the info@ address for blackmoor. Purely because the tech people wouldn’t be expecting to receive outside emails, as their email doesn’t appear on the website. If you get my drift.
March 6th, 2009 at 5:23 pm
be nice if people read the comments before posting:P got the same thing written a few times now
March 6th, 2009 at 7:01 pm
Sorry Mike: it’s because I approve comments in batches, not everyone sees everything. I’d rather that everyone gets credit for trying!
March 12th, 2009 at 4:53 pm
Not dumb at all! Maybe the tech is the site id?